Analysis II (Math 131B), Fall 2019

MacQuarrie Hall 233, MW 9:00-10:15am (Sec. 02, code 46481)

Last update of this page: Tue Sep 17, 11:45pm

Announcements:

FUA (Frequently Used Acronyms):

In the box below are some acronyms that I use all the time, both in class and when grading your work. You are welcome to use them as well.

(list of Frequently Used Abbreviations)

Administrative handouts:

Course greensheet, Information sheet.

Course notes:

Course mechanics: Homework in Math 131B, , Writing proofs.

Course content: First examples of Fourier Series, Review of Analysis I.

Topics for exams:

Exam 1.

Sample exams:

Exam 1.

Problem sets:

HW New definitions Outline due Completion due Last revision due Problems to be turned in
PS01 2.1, 2.2, 2.3, 2.4. Mon Aug 26 Wed Aug 28 Wed Sep 18 1.1.2, 2.1.6, 2.2.3, 2.3.1, 2.3.5, 2.4.3, 2.4.10.
PS02 2.5, 3.1, 3.2. Wed Sep 04 Mon Sep 09 Mon Oct 21 2.5.3, 3.1.2, 3.1.4, 3.1.6, 3.1.12, 3.2.4, 3.2.6.
PS03 3.3, 3.4, 3.5, 4.1. Wed Sep 11 Wed Sep 18 Mon Oct 21 3.3.2, 3.3.3(d,e), 3.4.3, 3.4.4, 3.4.6, 3.5.2, 4.1.3.
PS04 4.2, 4.3, 4.4, 4.5. Wed Sep 25 Mon Sep 30 Mon Oct 21 4.2.1, 4.3.4, 4.3.6, 4.4.1, 4.5.1, 4.5.2, 4.5.4.

Reading assigned in course:

From textbook: 1.1-1.2, 2.1-2.5.

Further topics:

Here are some possibilities for further study after this class, grouped into three categories, along with links or suggested reading that should give you an idea of what the topic is like. (For master's students: Most of these topics would make good master's theses projects.)
  1. More theory

  2. Practical applications

  3. Less practical applications

Other useful links: