Math 142: Introduction to combinatorics

Fall 2002, MacQuarrie 234, MWF 1:30pm (Sec. 1, code 10543)

Last update of this page: Wed Jan 8, 2003

Announcements:

Administrative handouts:

Course greensheet, Information sheet.

Course notes:

Course mechanics: Homework in Math 142 (revised Sep 28), Writing mathematics in paragraph style, Writing proofs.

Mathematical notes: Paths, circuits, trails, cycles, The big board of balls in boxes (corrected), Two recurrence relation problems.

Topics for exams:

Exam 1, Exam 2, Exam 3, Final exam.

Problem sets:

Click on the number or title of any highlighted problem set to download it. (Files are in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.)

HW First draft due Due date Problems to be done but not turned in Problems to be turned in
PS01 Fri Aug 30 Fri Sep 06 See handout. See handout.
PS02 Mon Sep 09 Fri Sep 13 (1.3) 1, 5, 11; (1.4) 3, 5, 7, 13, 17. (1.3) 2(b)(c), 6, 12; (1.4) 6, 14, 18(a).
PS03 Mon Sep 16 Fri Sep 20 (2.1) 3, 5, 9, 17; (2.2) 1, 3, 9, 15, 19(a)(c). (2.1) 2(a)(c), 10, 16; (2.2) 2(c), 4(c,k), 16.
PS04 Mon Sep 30 Fri Oct 04 See handout. See handout.
PS05 Mon Oct 07 Fri Oct 11 See handout. See handout.
PS06 none Wed Oct 16 (5.1) 3, 5, 9, 13, 17, 21, 25, 27, 31, 35, 39, 47. (5.1) 6, 10, 16, 22, 26, 32, 38, 46.
PS07 none Mon Oct 21 (5.2) 3, 5, 9, 11, 15, 17, 23, 27, 31, 35, 39, 41. (5.2) 4, 8, 12, 16(c,d), 22, 26, 36, 40.
PS08 none Mon Nov 04 (5.2) 47, 51, 55, 61, 63, 65, 75; (5.3) 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 15, 21, 23. (5.2) 48, 56, 60(c), 70; (5.3) 4, 10, 14, 20.
PS09 none Fri Nov 08 (5.4) 1, 3, 13, 15, 23, 24, 27, 29, 33, 47, 48, 55, 57. (5.4) 2, 16, 22, 28(d), 30(b), 36, 44, 50.
PS10 none Fri Nov 15 (6.1) 1, 3, 9, 15, 17, 21, 23; (6.2) 1, 3, 7, 11, 15, 19, 23. (6.1) 4(b,d), 8, 16, 24; (6.2) 10, 14, 18(b), 22.
PS11 none Fri Nov 22 (7.1) 1, 3, 9, 11, 15, 19, 23, 29, 33, 37, 43, 49. (6.2) 28; (7.1) 4, 10, 18, 22, 24, 32.
PS12 none Wed Dec 10 See handout. See handout.

Selected homework answers:

(deleted)

Reading assigned in course:

Homework and writing handouts; proof handout sections 1-3; textbook 1.1-1.4, 2.1-2.3, 3.1-3.4, 5.1-5.5 through table on p. 215, 6.1-6.2, 7.1, 8.1-8.2.

Other useful links: