Applied and industrial algebra (Math 127), Spring 2018

MacQuarrie Hall 235, MW noon-1:15pm (Sec. 01, code 28587)

Last update of this page: Mon May 14, 9:45am

Announcements:

FUA (Frequently Used Acronyms):

In the box below are some acronyms that I use all the time, both in class and when grading your work. You are welcome to use them as well.

(list of Frequently Used Abbreviations)

Administrative handouts:

Course greensheet, Information sheet.

Course notes:

Course notes.

Course mechanics: Homework in Math 127, Check-ins.

Course content:

Background: Writing proofs (optional).

Topics for exams:

Exam 1, Exam 2, Exam 3, Final exam.

Problem sets:

Numbers of the form A.B refer to problem B of Chapter A of Childs. Numbers of the form A.B.C refer to problems in the class notes, and are marked by a link to the class notes.

HW Outline due Due date Last revision due Problems to turn in
PS01 Wed Jan 31 Mon Feb 05 Wed Feb 21 1.1.1, 1.1.2, 3.18 (use naive methods), 3.33(i), 3.34(iv), 3.39(iii), 3.56(ii).
PS02 Wed Feb 07 Mon Feb 12 Wed Mar 21 3.45, 3.58(i), 7.10, 7.12, 7.30, 7.31, 7.35.
PS03 Wed Feb 14 Mon Feb 19 Wed Mar 21 13.5, 13.7(iv), 13.8(ii), 14.5, 14.15, 14.23, 14.26.
PS04 Wed Feb 28 Mon Mar 05 Wed Mar 21 5.13, 5.46, 6.6, 6.17, 6.24, 6.29, 6.51.
PS05 Wed Mar 07 Mon Mar 12 Wed Apr 25 2.3.2(c), 2.3.3(b), 2.3.5(a), 2.4.1, 2.4.2, 2.4.3, 2.4.5.
PS06 Wed Mar 14 Wed Mar 21 Wed Apr 25 2.5.1, 2.5.2, 2.6.1, 2.7.1, 2.7.2, 2.7.3, 2.7.4, 2.7.5.
PS07 Wed Apr 04 Mon Apr 09 Mon May 14 23.3, 23.4, 23.5, 23.7, 23.10, 23.12(iii,iv), 23.14(i,iii).
PS08 Fri Apr 13 Mon Apr 16 Mon May 14 14.46, 3.1.1, 3.2.1, 3.3.2, 3.3.4, 3.4.1.
PS09 Fri Apr 20 Wed Apr 25 Mon May 14 3.4.2, 3.4.3, 3.5.2, 3.5.3, 3.6.1, 3.6.2, 3.7.1.
PS10 Fri May 04 Mon May 07 TBA 11.1, 11.7, 11.9, 11.11, 11.15, 4.2.2, 4.3.1.
PS10 Fri May 11 Wed May 16 TBA 5.1.1, 5.2.1, 5.3.1, 5.4.1, 5.4.2.

Reading assigned in course:

Childs: 3A-3F, 7A, 7C, 13A-13C, 14A-14B; 5A-5B, 5E-5F, 6A-6E, 8A-8B, 8E; 14C, 23A-23B, 23C; 11A-11B, 11C.

Course notes: 1.1-1.4; 2.1-2.7; 3.1-3.7; 4.2-4.3; 5.1-5.4.