Calculus I (Math 30), Sec 07, Fall 2018

MacQuarrie Hall 320, MW 10:30-11:45am (Sec 07, code 50525)

Last update of this page: Sat Nov 17, 3:30pm


Announcements:

Administrative handouts:

Course greensheet, Information sheet (online version).

Course mechanics: The mechanics of this course, Homework in Math 30, How to succeed in college math, How the gateway test affects your grade.

Course content notes:

Sample gateway test.

Topics for exams:

Exam 1, Exam 2, Exam 3.

Sample exams:

Exam 1, Exam 2, Exam 3.

Homework:

Class prep quizzes are due 15 minutes before the associated class.

Class date Reading Concept videos Example videos Class prep quiz In-class HW# Due date Problems
Wed Aug 22 HW00 Wed Sep 05 Buy the book and bring it to class on Wed Sep 05
Wed Aug 22 1.1-1.3 Representing functions, Algebraic functions, Trig functions, New functions from old. n/a Worksheet HW01 Mon Aug 27 (1.1) 4, 16, 24; (1.2) 6, 16; (1.3) 14, 36(a,b), 46, 52(a,b,e); (App. D, p. A33) 72.
Mon Aug 27 1.4-1.5 Exponential functions, Inverse functions, Logarithms, Inverse trig functions Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW02 Wed Aug 29 (1.4) 8, 22; (1.5) 18, 40, 54(b); handout A, B, C, D.
Wed Aug 29 2.1 The tangent and velocity problems Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW03 Wed Sep 05 (2.1) 2, 4, 8.
Wed Sep 05 2.2 The idea of the limit, Infinite limits Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW04 Mon Sep 10 (2.2) 2, 4(b,c,d), 12, 22, 24, 40, 50(a,b).
Mon Sep 10 2.2-2.3 The limit laws, Evaluating limits Take quiz (questions) Worksheet 2.2; Worksheet 2.3 HW05 Wed Sep 12 (2.2) 6(b,c,f,i,k), 8(b,d,e), 16; (2.3) 2(a,c,e), 8, 12, 18.
Wed Sep 12 2.3; 2.5 The squeeze theorem, Continuity Take quiz (questions) Worksheet 2.3; Worksheet 2.5 HW06 Mon Sep 17 (2.3) 24, 30, 34, 36; (2.5) 4, 12, 18.
Mon Sep 17 2.5; 2.6 Limits at infinity Take quiz (questions) Worksheet 2.5; Worksheet 2.6 HW07 Mon Sep 24 (2.5) 6, 22, 34, 42; (2.6) 4(b,d,f), 6, 12.
Mon Sep 24 2.7 Derivatives and rates of change Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW08 Wed Sep 26 (2.7) 6, 10, 16, 18, 20, 50, 54.
Wed Sep 26 2.8 The derivative as a function Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW09 Mon Oct 01 (2.8) 2, 8, 14, 18, 26, 38, 44.
Mon Oct 01 3.1 Some basic derivative formulas Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW10 Wed Oct 03 (3.1) 6, 14, 22, 26, 32, 36, 46, 52, 60.
Wed Oct 03 3.2 The product and quotient rules Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW11 Mon Oct 08 (3.2) 6, 10, 14, 20, 24, 28, 32, 44, 50.
Mon Oct 08 3.3 Derivatives of trigonometric functions Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW12 Wed Oct 10 (3.3) 2, 6, 10, 12, 16, 24, 30, 32, 36.
Wed Oct 10 3.4 The chain rule Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW13 Mon Oct 15 (3.4) 10, 16, 22, 26, 30, 36, 40, 44, 52, 64.
Mon Oct 15 3.7 Word problems; Applications of derivatives Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW14 Mon Oct 22 (3.7) 8, 12, 20, 22, 26, 32.
Mon Oct 22 3.6 No video No prep quiz Worksheet HW15 Wed Oct 24 (3.6) 4, 10, 16, 34; (p. 267) 4, 14, 16, 20, 24, 36, 50.
Wed Oct 24 3.5 Implicit differentiation Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW16 Mon Oct 29 (3.4) 66, 82, 88. (3.5) 10, 16, 22, 30, 50.
Mon Oct 29 3.8 Word problems; Exponential growth and decay Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW17 Wed Oct 31 (3.8) 2, 6, 8, 12, 16, 22.
Wed Oct 31 3.9 Word problems; Related rates Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW18 Mon Nov 05 (3.9) 6, 12, 16, 22, 26 (not 28), 38.
Mon Nov 05 3.10 Linear approximation and differentials Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW19 Wed Nov 07 (3.10) 2, 6, 16, 22, 26, 36, 44.
Wed Nov 07 4.1 Maximum and minimum values Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW20 Wed Nov 14 (4.1) 6, 10, 32, 40, 48, 54, 60.
Wed Nov 14 4.3 How derivatives affect the shape of a graph Take quiz (questions) Worksheet HW21 Mon Nov 26 (4.3) 8, 12, 18, 24, 32, 42, 52.

Reading assigned in course:

Appendix D, 1.1-1.5, 2.1-2.3, 2.5-2.8, 3.1-3.3, 3.4-3.8, 3.9, 3.10.