Calculus I (Math 30), Sec 01, Fall 2018

MacQuarrie Hall 323, MW 9:00-10:15am (Sec 01, code 40774)

Last update of this page: Sat Nov 17, 3:30pm


Announcements:

Administrative handouts:

Course greensheet, Information sheet (online version).

Course mechanics: Homework in Math 30, How to succeed in college math, How the gateway test affects your grade.

Course content notes:

Sample gateway test.

Topics for exams:

Exam 1, Exam 2, Exam 3.

Sample exams:

Exam 1, Exam 2, Exam 3.

Homework:

Class date Reading HW# Due date Problems
Wed Aug 22 HW00 Wed Sep 05 Buy the book and bring it to class on Wed Sep 05
Wed Aug 22 1.1-1.3 HW01 Mon Aug 27 (1.1) 4, 16, 24; (1.2) 6, 16; (1.3) 14, 36(a,b), 46, 52(a,b,e); (App. D, p. A33) 72.
Mon Aug 27 1.4-1.5 HW02 Wed Aug 29 (1.4) 8, 22; (1.5) 18, 40, 54(b); handout A, B, C, D.
Wed Aug 29 2.1 HW03 Wed Sep 05 (2.1) 2, 4, 8.
Wed Sep 05 2.2 HW04 Mon Sep 10 (2.2) 2, 4(b,c,d), 12, 22, 24, 40, 50(a,b).
Mon Sep 10 2.2-2.3 HW05 Wed Sep 12 (2.2) 6(b,c,f,i,k), 8(b,d,e), 16; (2.3) 2(a,c,e), 8, 12, 18.
Wed Sep 12 2.3; 2.5 HW06 Mon Sep 17 (2.3) 24, 30, 34, 36; (2.5) 4, 12, 18.
Mon Sep 17 2.5; 2.6 HW07 Mon Sep 24 (2.5) 6, 22, 34, 42; (2.6) 4(b,d,f), 6, 12.
Mon Sep 24 2.7 HW08 Wed Sep 26 (2.7) 6, 10, 16, 18, 20, 50, 54.
Wed Sep 26 2.8 HW09 Mon Oct 01 (2.8) 2, 8, 14, 18, 26, 38, 44.
Mon Oct 01 3.1 HW10 Wed Oct 03 (3.1) 6, 14, 22, 26, 32, 36, 46, 52, 60.
Wed Oct 03 3.2 HW11 Mon Oct 08 (3.2) 6, 10, 14, 20, 24, 28, 32, 44, 50.
Mon Oct 08 3.3 HW12 Wed Oct 10 (3.3) 2, 6, 10, 12, 16, 24, 30, 32, 36.
Wed Oct 10 3.4 HW13 Mon Oct 15 (3.4) 10, 16, 22, 26, 30, 36, 40, 44, 52, 64.
Mon Oct 15 3.7 HW14 Mon Oct 22 (3.7) 8, 12, 20, 22, 26, 32.
Mon Oct 22 3.6 HW15 Wed Oct 24 (3.6) 4, 10, 16, 34; (p. 267) 4, 14, 16, 20, 24, 36, 50.
Wed Oct 24 3.5 HW16 Mon Oct 29 (3.4) 66, 82, 88. (3.5) 10, 16, 22, 30, 50.
Mon Oct 29 3.8 HW17 Wed Oct 31 (3.8) 2, 6, 8, 12, 16, 22.
Wed Oct 31 3.9 HW18 Mon Nov 05 (3.9) 6, 12, 16, 22, 26 (not 28), 38.
Mon Nov 05 3.10 HW19 Wed Nov 07 (3.10) 2, 6, 16, 22, 26, 36, 44.
Wed Nov 07 4.1 HW20 Wed Nov 14 (4.1) 6, 10, 32, 40, 48, 54, 60.
Wed Nov 14 4.3 HW21 Mon Nov 26 (4.3) 8, 12, 18, 24, 32, 42, 52.

Reading assigned in course:

Appendix D, 1.1-1.5, 2.1-2.3, 2.5-2.8, 3.1-3.3, 3.4-3.8, 3.9, 3.10.