SJSU Math/Stats Colloquium, Spring 2023-2024

Department of Mathematics and Statistics

San José State University

Unless otherwise indicated, on colloquium days (Wednesdays unless otherwise noted):


Date Speaker Title (click links for abstracts) Location
Wed Feb 07 Ethan Dlugie, UC Berkeley Wallpaper groups: a meeting place of algebra, geometry, and topology MH320
Wed Feb 14 SPECIAL EVENT Math/Stats Career Day BY ZOOM
Wed Feb 21 Peter Gao, SJSU Mapping local health outcomes with limited data MH320
Wed Feb 28 Patrick Murphy, SJSU Modeling Collective Bacterial Dynamics MH320
Wed Mar 06 Yan Zhang, SJSU Folding Computation into Fewer Computations MH320
Wed Mar 13 Ellen Veomett, Univ. of San Francisco Mathematical Questions in Redistricting and Detecting Gerrymandering MH320
Wed Mar 20 Linda Burks, Santa Clara Univ. College Algebra Students' Perceptions of Exam Errors and the Problem-Solving Process MH320
Mon Mar 25 Oscar Vega, Fresno State SPECIAL EVENT: An Introduction to Cal-Bridge (for students and faculty) MH320
Wed Mar 27 Abdulmelik Mohammed, SJSU Algorithmic Design of Nanoscale DNA Polyhedra MH320
Wed Apr 03 NO COLLOQUIUM SPRING BREAK
Wed Apr 10 Carol Meyers, Lawrence Livermore National Labs Modeling the Enterprise: My Career at a National Laboratory MH320
Wed Apr 17 Edgar Bering, Daniel Brinkman, Patrick Murphy, Cristina Tortora, SJSU Faculty/student research showcase MH320
Wed Apr 24 Wasin So, SJSU Cutting triangles MH320
Wed May 01 Chi-Yun Hsu, Santa Clara Univ. Mathematics in musical tuning MH320
Wed May 08 Kassahun Betre, SJSU TBA MH320

See here for more about the SJSU Math/Stats Colloquium.





Useful links: